Article

Developing new skills at school

“A child who feels well, does well!” Jane Nelsen

At Eden School we use an educational system that suggests that we should develop life skills within the children (independence, responsibility, problem resolution, …): Positive Discipline

Positive Discipline aims to teach social-emotional skills. This proposal, directed to parents, teachers and educators is neither permissive nor harsh. It encourages children to develop self-discipline, a sense of responsibility, social skills and respect in the midst of a kind and firm atmosphere.

Positive Discipline is based upon the findings of two Austrian psychiatrists: Alfred Adler (1870-1937) and, above all, Rudolf Dreikurs (1897-1972), who highlighted the basic needs of human beings:  The sense of belonging and of importance. If these two requirements are met, the individual can become fully involved in what Adler calls “social interest” and strive to be the best that he can be. This is true for students who aim to manage his emotions, be polite, responsible, independent, respectful, honest, attentive, courageous…

Once the conditions that promote the learning of life skills and social-emotional abilities are identified within the learning environment, Positive Discipline provides a systematic approach acting through repetition, consistency, and methodical organisation within the classroom. Teachers have the tools to convince the child that he has the ability to progress and improve his behaviour.

For the past two years at eden School, we have used this approach to support our students. We teach these life skills with kindness and firmness. Encouragement is the lever used to motivate. Encouragement is not always gentle: it  infuses strength and courage, it develops the sense of ability in children (the belief: “I am capable”)

The following are the tools we put in place:

  • Class meetings:

This is a special time in the classroom where students share appreciations to highlight positive action or a small gesture of another student.

Then, a student who may have had a problem has placed his request for help on the class agenda. Then the class will propose a number of solutions from which he can choose the one that suits him best.

Finally, workshops are offered to better understand their emotions or when projects are discussed and organised with the group.

  • Time Out:

When there is conflict or when we get carried away by our emotions, it is best to postpone a decision that may be inappropriate. So children learn to use their “Time Out” to take a moment to regain composure when they feel that they are unable to think calmly.

  • Reparation:

“The important thing is not the mistakes we make, butt what we do with it”

If a child has a problem with another student, he is encouraged to recognise his mistake and find a way to repair the situation. An agreement must be made through dialogue and the reparation must be acceptable to both children. The teacher accompanies them throughout the process.

  • Responsibilities:

Within the school and the classroom, everyone has a responsibility. We all participate in the school project and we need to cooperate to spend a great year together.

  • The Personal Project:

The aim is to provide each student with a time of individual dialogue with his academic advisor. This is an excellent learning opportunity.

We encourage our students to evaluate certain criteria such as independence, self-awareness, cooperation … From this assessment, the child chooses an area he feels that needs improvement. He then sets a short-term goal for himself.

Positive Discipline is based on the conviction that it is essential to take into account the needs of the students. It provides a systematic approach and repetition, always finding the right balance between flexibility and rigour, kindness and firmness, never using punishment.

CONFERENCE NADINE GAUDIN

Nadine Gaudin is a training professional.  For the last twenty years, she has been working as a school teacher.  Her love and passion for education has, naturally, allowed her to embrace adult training.

Trained and certified in Positive Discipline, she co-presides the Positive Discipline Association.  Her work within the association has far reaching implications.  Ultimately, she incessantly aims to share her knowledge of Positive Discipline on a national as well as on an international level.

To learn more about Positive Discipline, we invite you to attend the presentation by Nadine Gaudin, certified Positive Discipline instructor, at Eden School on the 28th November, 2016 at 7:30 pm. Open door to visit the school and have a little drink at 7pm. As the places are limited, please register by mail at: activites@ecole-eden.ch

 tec

Article

talents-competences-article

« Un enfant réussit mieux lorsqu’il se sent mieux ! » Jane Nelsen

A l’école Eden, nous utilisons une démarche éducative qui propose de développer les compétences de vie des enfants (autonomie, responsabilité, résolution de problème, … ): la Discipline Positive.

La Discipline Positive a pour vocation d’enseigner les compétences psychosociales. Elle est une démarche proposée aux parents, enseignants et éducateurs qui n’est ni permissive ni punitive et qui permet de développer chez l’enfant l’autodiscipline, le sens des responsabilités, les compétences sociales, le respect dans un cadre à la fois ferme et bienveillant.

Au plan théorique, la discipline positive se réfère aux travaux de deux psychiatres autrichiens, Alfred Adler (1870-1937) et surtout Rudolf Dreikurs (1897-1972) qui mettent en avant les besoins essentiels de l’être humain que sont les sentiments d’appartenance et d’importance : si ces deux besoins sont satisfaits, l’individu peut s’investir pleinement dans ce qu’Adler appelle « l’intérêt social » et aller vers le meilleur de lui-même. Il s’agit pour l’élève d’être  capable de gérer ses émotions, d’être poli, responsable, autonome, respectueux, honnête, à l’écoute, courageux, etc.

Une fois repérées les conditions favorisant l’apprentissage des compétences psychosociales dans le cadre habituel d’un enseignement, la Discipline Positive vise à les systématiser, en agissant sur la répétition, la constance, l’organisation méthodique de la classe. Les enseignants ont une approche qui permet de convaincre l’enfant de sa capacité à progresser pour l’amener à faire évoluer son comportement.

A l’école Eden, depuis maintenant deux ans, nous utilisons cette approche pour accompagner nos élèves. Nous enseignons ces compétences de vie avec bienveillance et fermeté. Nous nous  appuyons  sur l’encouragement comme levier de motivation. L’encouragement, ce n’est pas être gentil tout le temps : c’est insuffler de la force et du courage, c’est développer le sentiment de capacité chez l’enfant (la croyance : je suis capable).

Voici quelques outils que nous privilégions:

  • Les temps d’échange en classe:

C’est un moment privilégié au sein de la classe où les élèves partagent des appréciations pour mettre en valeur l’action positive ou un petit geste d’un autre élève.

Ensuite, un élève a peut-être une difficulté qu’il a inscrite à l’ordre du jour. Alors la classe va lui proposer un grand nombre de solutions parmi lesquelles il pourra choisir celle qui lui conviendra le mieux.

Enfin, des ateliers sont proposés afin de mieux comprendre ses émotions ou alors des projets sont discutés et organisés avec le groupe.

  • Le temps de pause:

Lorsqu’un conflit éclate ou lorsqu’une émotion nous emporte, il vaut mieux reporter une décision qui risquerait d’être excessive. Aussi les enfants apprennent à utiliser le temps de pause lorsqu’ils sentent qu’ils sont incapables de réfléchir calmement.

  • La réparation:

«L’important, ce ne sont pas les erreurs mais ce que nous en faisons »

L’élève, en cas de difficultés avec un autre enfant, est encouragé à reconnaître son erreur puis à réparer. Cette réparation doit être validée par les deux enfants. Un accord doit être trouvé grâce au dialogue. L’enseignant accompagne cette réflexion.

  • Les responsabilités:

Au sein de l’école et de la classe, chacun a une responsabilité. Nous participons tous au projet de l’école et nous avons besoin de coopérer pour passer une belle année ensemble.

  • Le projet personnel

Il s’agit d’offrir à chaque élève, un temps de dialogue individuel. Ce temps dédié qui n’appartient qu’à un élève et son enseignant référent est un formidable moment d’éducation.

Nous encourageons nos élèves à s’évaluer sur certains critères tels que l’autonomie, la conscience de soi, la coopération… A partir de cette évaluation, l’enfant choisit un axe de progrès et se fixe un objectif à court terme pour progresser.

La Discipline Positive s’appuie sur la conviction qu’il est essentiel de tenir compte des besoins d’un élève. Elle s’appuie sur la systématisation et la répétition, tout en demeurant dans un jeu d’équilibre entre répression et permissivité, bienveillance et fermeté, et cela sans utiliser la sanction.

CONFERENCE NADINE GAUDIN

Nadine Gaudin est une professionnelle de la formation. Depuis 20 ans, elle œuvre comme enseignante dans le monde de l’éducation et sa passion de la transmission l’a naturellement portée, ces dernières années, vers la formation d’adultes. Certifiée en discipline positive, elle est co-présidente du conseil d’administration (board of directors) de la  Positive Discipline Association.  Elle oeuvre au sein de cette structure au développement international de la Discipline Positive. Elle intervient dans le monde entier pour partager cette démarche de Discipline Positive.

Pour en savoir plus, nous vous invitons à participer à la conférence de Nadine Gaudin au sein de l’école Eden, le 28 novembre 2016 à 19h30.
Portes ouvertes et visite de l’Ecole dès 19h. Les places étant limitées nous vous remercions de vous inscrire à: activites@ecole-eden.ch

tec